June 21-22, 2022
Mentoring and highlighting future leaders in the life & biomedical sciences

Organizers & Mentors


Kivanç Birsoy, Ph.D.

Chapman Perelman Assistant Professor
Laboratory of Metabolic Regulation and Genetics
The Rockefeller University

Daniel Mucida, Ph.D.

Professor; Investigator, Howard Hughes Medical Institute
Laboratory of Mucosal Immunology
The Rockefeller University

Ashton Murray

Chief Diversity Officer
Vice President for Diversity, Equity, and Inclusion
The Rockefeller University

Sohail Tavazoie, M.D., Ph.D.

Leon Hess Professor; Senior Attending Physician
Laboratory of Systems Cancer Biology
The Rockefeller University

Emilie Wang

Workshop Administrator
The Rockefeller University


Gregory Alushin, Laboratory of Structural Biophysics and Mechanobiology
Kivanç Birsoy, Laboratory of Metabolic Regulation and Genetics
Paul Cohen, Laboratory of Molecular Metabolism
Winrich Freiwald, Laboratory of Neural Systems
Erich Jarvis, Laboratory of Neurogenetics of Language
Daniel Kronauer, Laboratory of Social Evolution and Behavior
Gaby Maimon, Laboratory of Integrative Brain Function
Luciano Marraffini, Laboratory of Bacteriology
Daniel Mucida, Laboratory of Mucosal Immunology
Priya Rajasethupathy, Laboratory of Neural Dynamics and Cognition
Viviana Risca, Laboratory of Genome Architecture and Dynamics
Jeremy Rock, Laboratory of Host-Pathogen Biology
Vanessa Ruta, Laboratory of Neurophysiology and Behavior
Sohail Tavazoie, Laboratory of Systems Cancer Biology
Ekaterina Vinogradova, Laboratory of Chemical Immunology and Proteomics
Li Zhao, Laboratory of Evolutionary Genetics and Genomics

University Leadership

The Rockefeller University Exceptional Scholars Workshop is grateful for the tremendous support of University Leadership:
Richard Lifton, President
Michael Young, Vice President for Academic Affairs
Timothy O’Connor, Executive Vice President
Lindsey Cole, Program Director, Academic Committees and Initiatives
Brian Dougherty, Board Relations and Academic Programs Associate


The Rockefeller University gratefully acknowledges the generous support of the following sponsors for both the inaugural Exceptional Scholars Workshop and the newly launched Diversity, Equity, and Inclusion Initiative.

Laureate ($100,000)

William E. Ford

Simons Foundation

Luminary ($50,000)

Marie-Josée and Henry R. Kravis

Merck & Co., Inc.

Benefactor ($25,000)

Global Blood Therapeutics

McKinsey & Company

David Sze and Kathleen Donohue

Patron ($15,000)

Sandra J. Horbach and Steven F. Skoler

Royalty Pharma

Sponsor ($10,000)


Friend ($5,000)

Equum Medical

Regina and Jeffrey Kessler

Andrew and Suzanne Plump